yetong520 发表于 2022-3-17 21:56:41

Personal Statement Of Purpose/UCSD/Computer Vision

Oct 27, 2016 1508 Words 7 Pages

View in Writing Tool
Statement of Purpose / UCSD / Computer Vision / Ph. D.
Sung-Pil Paek

This statement applies for admission to the Ph.D. program in Department of Computer Science and Engineering of UCSD, specifically, to continue my study in computer vision as a subfield. I indeed am interested in recognizing, identifying, and detecting the real world through computers in particular with visual information. Based on an understanding of our surroundings of life, I always enjoy replacing the time-consuming, hectic works with computer software and let it be a better choice than other routine works. Hence, I am fascinated to deal with automatic annotations and tracking of images or videos, which are my current research interests.
When I was a student in College of Information & Communication of Korea University, one of most competitive institutes in South Korea, I have taken series of lectures from Professor Jung-Hyun Han. His research areas include physics-based computer simulation, and he taught “Game Programming”, and “Introduction to Interactive Contents” as a course at the college. Through attending his lectures, I was favored by learning about computer graphics, including concept of applied mathematics, applied physics, and projection of three-dimensional objects into two-dimensional space. I further recognized that reconstruction of the three-dimensional objects from a photograph can be an exciting topic and also learned that this was a part of the computer vision area. Such personal academic experiences in the undergraduate level stimulated me enough to seriously start deliberation in the field which eventually inspired me to be a professional researcher in the future.